faith

He lifted me out of the slimy pit….

Lord where are you? You were just here and now I can feel you. Are you speaking? I can’t hear you! Where you there? Where you just saying something? I thought I heard you but now I don’t know……

 

This past weekend was not an easy one. I felt attacked and I felt responsible for the attacks of my loved ones. By Saturday I was speechless. Utterly speechless. I kept saying “I know we need to talk God and we will but could you just stay close for now? Please don’t leave me.”

 

 

 

 

How often to we take the disappointment, the hurts and the offenses of others on as a false reflection of God? How often do we let our brokenness caused by others seep into our relationship with the One who gives life and does so abundantly (John 10:10 NIV) 

What started out as a moment of clarity. What began as revelation from the Lord about something He is leading me to ended with me in, something that can only be described as, a slimy pit.

I waited patiently for the Lord;
he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
and gave me a firm place to stand.
He put a new song in my mouth,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear the Lord
and put their trust in him.

Here is what I have learned about slimy pits. They can come right after our closest, most revealing time with the Lord. This used to confuse me. I would feel like I heard straight from God, I would hear exactly what he has been so patiently trying to get me to see and hear.

I would be so excited and then boom I would be in a pit. And as I’m treading the muck and mire I would be wondering how I got here. Wondering if I heard from Him or if I somehow made it up. I finally realized that this is a targeted attack from the enemy trying to derail me, you, us as believers from the confidence that we did hear Him and that we know his voice!

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

We must recognize these pits for what they really are! Personalized, targeted attacks from the one who seeks to steal kill and destroy (John 10:10 NIV).

I encourage you in these times you find yourself in a slimy pit, cry out to Him, He will hear you and pull you out and put a NEW SONG in your mouth! Do not lose sight of who you are in Him. Know your identity and seek the promises that He is given you in His Word!

Sweet friend as you read this know that you are not alone, for He is always with you. Know that you do not battle this life alone, you have a friend who is battling this alongside of you. If there is something that would like for me to pray for you click HERE.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

