Current Study, Fervent

The Blessing of Having a Past

Blessed to have a past

 

When I glance in the rear view mirror of my life I see guilt, I see failure, I see times I knew better but forged ahead, I see times when I didn’t rise to the occasion. It makes me wince when I think of the times that I was not a good steward of Gods blessings. I see times when I took the peace I had begged for a threw it out of the window or when I asked for patience and then  disregarded my need for them in an instant.

What about you? What do you see?

What if we are looking at our failures all wrong? What if we are looking at our past as something that shouldn’t have happened and God is looking at it as things that happen that led us to him?

In Luke 9:23 Jesus says “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me”. Which means we have to choose Christ, we must choose to accept the love of God and open our lives to it. Therefore it was God who gave us the choice!! Which means guess what???? God knew when we created you because he loved you so much and gave us the choice to follow Him we knew that you, me, we as a people would have to journey to Him. Which means we would not be blameless, perfect, faultless people when we arrived at His feet.

No! In fact we would be dirty, sinful, broken, hurting, wandering people. He said THATS OK because “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

He said don’t worry about your past or your weaknesses because

HIS POWER+ OUR WEAKNESS = PERFECT

Take off the goggles that they enemy wants you wearing when you reflect on your past. Adjust that rear-view mirror so that you can see from Gods perspective! Have confidence that the things that you have been through to get to Him, might not have been perfect but the second that you come to Him and lay it all down at His feet we must remember HIS GRACE IS SUFFICIENT and “we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28).

Ephesians 2:8 Says “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.

Are you like me and think “ok so I cant work my way into heaven. Like I cant do enough ‘good’ deeds to win my ticket to heave.” but you fail to remind yourself that you cant work your way out of heaven either? Our need for grace, boat loads, heaps and mounds of daily refreshed, renewed, ever replenishing grace is the EXACT way that God planned all of this out. Yours and my need for grace is His perfect will. You needing it is perfect.

In love he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. Ephesians 2:5-6

The only way to keep our past in proper view is to have a tight grasp on our Identity in Christ which I talked about a few weeks ago.

AND THIS……

Our past is our testimonyand God uses it to further The KindgomAll of that past. All of those things that you want to hide or don’t want to ever think about again. that “good” that God works all things for, your past is part of that!! I’m going to assume that you are like me and that whether good or bed you learn quite a few lessons from those things that you battled through. Share that!! Share what you have learned from the presence and absence of God in your life. That is your testimony and that is what He uses to further the kingdom.

Go ….. Share …..

It reminds me of the story of the women at the well. (Very briefly)  Jesus passes through Samaria on his way from Judah to Galilee when he stops at a well. There was a Samaritan women there with, what we learn, quite the checkered past. We can assume since it was noon that she had chosen that time to go to the well so that she could be left alone from those who had condemned and ostracized her. She goes to the well and she is met by a Jewish man who asks her for water. She is taken aback, she is shocked that he is even speaking to her. He offers her living water and tells her to go and get her husband. She very honestly tells him that she has no husband and he tells her he knows and then precedes to tell her her past. As the story continues to unfold she runs back to town and tells everyone of her encounter with Jesus. And the Bible says  Many of the Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony” John 4:39 

I suggest you go back and read this story because this women’s past is what qualified her to be mentioned in the BIBLE!! I mean yall she is refered to as the “unnamed Samaritan woman”. She might as well be that chick with the past at the well. 

She didn’t hide who she was she told Jesus. I want this living water but I got some junk in my past and his response “I know” and then MANY SAMARITANS BELIEVED BECAUSE OF THIS WOMAN’S TESTIMONY.

Do you feel unqualified or disqualified to do God’s work?? Then go ahead and chock that up to be the enemy trying to defeat you because our God qualifies the called, he doesn’t call the qualified.

If you are just jumping in I’m blogging through the Fervent Study by Priscilla Shirer. You can check out my past posts HERE. I’m doing this study with a dear friend of mine, Stephanie from Butterfly Beginnings, and our posts are always tied to each other some how, which is never planned God just seems to work it out that way!!

You can check out her week 5 post out HERE where she talks about the Apostle Paul and how be embraced his past which is what allowed him to accomplish great things for the kingdom!

What is something that you feel God calling you to but fear has taken over? I would love to be able to pray for you!! If you don’t want to post below click HERE to message me privately

signature

 

6 thoughts on “The Blessing of Having a Past”

  1. Amen! I can definitely relate. Now since I am out of my old lifestyle of making wrong choices (although I am not perfect) I can now see clearly as I have my eyes on the one who made me. I am able to embrace the blessing in how God can use my past. One day I was thinking what is it that I know how to do or what do I have to offer? I said, “Talk to people and my testimony”. So I decided to name my site My Story Defined about how God is and has worked in my life. Even in everyday life whether I am at the grocery store or at the park with my daughter, I have this burning desire in me to talk with people. I could look back and see the dirty rotten pit I was in and say what a waste and although I would have loved to make wise choices, God is surely able to use my wrong choices for good and believe he is using me for his glory. Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

